x Designed and Developed by The Old State



The Goss-Michael Foundation is pleased to present The Space Between, a major solo show of new work from British
artist Adam Ball.

Curated by The Future Tense, the show opens to the public on Friday 5th September with the show continuing through October 4th, and will see the debut of a series of new and highly anticipated works across a range of different mediums. Expanding on previous themes, The Space Between sees Ball working with a new sense of scale and urgency as he confronts mankind’s inexorable desire for progress. Through an intensive process of layering and combining source material including lab-produced slides of his own DNA, man-made mechanical parts and images from the natural world, the artist has created his own unique visual language – at once abstract yet somehow instinctively familiar. With recent advances in genetic modification, nanotechnology and biomechanical augmentation illustrating the increasing influence of science over nature, Ball is careful not to make judgments, but rather to envisage these possibilities and interactions. His work is informed both by the imagined aesthetic implications, as well as the ability of artists to play an uncensored role as creator and commentator.

Adam Ball said, ‘whilst researching this body of work I was struck both by the way many of the building blocks of life – be they natural or man made – could be distilled to simple motifs, and how by playing with context and scale, everything can conceivably be interchangeable. By choosing how to layer, combine and modify these technically incompatible images, and by working predominately in charcoal and on a large scale, I found I could respond almost instinctively, blurring the boundaries between laboratory, studio and gallery.’

Kenny Goss said, ‘I noticed Adam in 2003 when he was featured in the Evening Standard’s “Bright Young Things - London’s rising stars”. Looking back now, he has definitely lived up to that billing. Adam is not only a good friend, he is a talented artist and much beloved in Dallas.’

The Space Between is Ball’s second major Dallas showing in 2014, having recently participated in RE:DEFINE at the Dallas Contemporary in April 2014, where his donations raised over $80,000 for the museum and the HIV/AIDS charity, MTV Staying Alive.

To mark the opening of The Space Between, The Future Tense will also publish The Living Other – the first etching edition by the artist, produced in conjunction with Pete Kosowicz of Thumbprint Editions. Measuring 37 x 40 inches, The Living Other is a photopolymer gravure etching in a signed edition of 20 plus 6 A/P’s.

About Adam Ball

Born in 1977, Adam lives and works in London and has exhibited in galleries internationally, including Paul Kasmin Gallery, New York; Dallas Contemporary, Dallas; Goss-Michael Foundation, Dallas; Gagosian Gallery, New York; Centre of Contemporary Art, Bahrain; Galerie Laurent Mueller, Paris; ARCO, Madrid; The Jerwood Space, London; ICA, London and CCA, Glasgow.

Since the installation in 2002 of a 32 foot high painting in central London, solo exhibitions include: Dirty Pattern, Paul Kasmin Gallery, NY; Graffiti Love, Goss Gallery, Dallas; In the Beginning, Shizaru Gallery, London; Coexistence (2010) and Echo (2013), Galerie Laurent Mueller, Paris, and Resolution, Centre of Contemporary Art, Bahrain. Group exhibitions include a collaboration for New York Fashion Week at Gagosian Gallery, NY; RE:DEFINE 2014, Dallas Contemporary, Dallas; RE:DEFINE 2011, Goss-Michael Foundation, Dallas; Duet, Galleria Xavier Fiol, Palma; This is London, Shizaru Gallery, Londo; SPECTRA I, Londonewcastle Project Space, London and ArteFiera Bologna, Italy.



FEATURE) is an approach directed toward engaging significant Dallas-based artists within the international programming of the Goss-Michael Foundation. This autumn, Michelle Rawlings will present recent paintings and a short documentary-style film work. Inspired by the documentary “Painters Painting”, Michelle’s film work examines herself as an art maker through a “fake, yet autobiographical interview” she conducted while in graduate school that was scripted, memorized and performed for the camera. Michelle creates intimate paintings (often small in scale) that vary in interest and painting method, skewing the usual perception of artistic style. Her works are composed of references to multiple art histories and to an assortment of everyday influences. Her compilations of printed and painted images mimic the sources of information we receive daily through the internet (e.g. blogs, pinterest, and other archival sites) and magazines – flipping from an ad to exposé to ad to article (repeat).

Michelle Rawlings (b.1980) earned her MFA in Painting from RISD (Rhode Island School of Design) in 2012. She also studied at the School of the Museum of Fine Arts Boston as well as Pepperdine, where she received a BA in Studio Art and Philosophy. Michelle’s recent group exhibitions include Hello Project Gallery, Houston, TX, Galleri Rostrum, Malmö, Sweden, KoncertKirken, Copenhagen, Denmark, DB14 (Dallas Biennial), Project 722, Brooklyn, NY, Dallas Contemporary, and Talley Dunn Gallery, Dallas, TX. Michelle’s work was recently represented by David Peterson Gallery at NADA New York and she has contributed artwork to Semigloss Magazine. Michelle’s solo exhibition history includes OFG.XXX (formerly Oliver Francis Gallery), Dallas, TX, Fort Worth Drawing Center, Dallas, TX, and Cité Internationale Universitaire de Paris, France.